FDA Proposes Sweeping New Food Safety Rules

Standard

RM Sorg:

Would be good if rules were straight across the board for EVERYONE. Not just the small farmer they are trying to shut down because they aren’t selling GMO’s to the people… Or raiding raw milk farmers cause it’s better to drink the milk from large, corporate run farms with chemically infested milk from over-drugged cows!! Or wait, tax the hell out of the organic farmers who are trying to grow clean food for their family and communities!!

Originally posted on CBS Denver:

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Food and Drug Administration on Friday proposed the most sweeping food safety rules in decades, requiring farmers and food companies to be more vigilant in the wake of deadly outbreaks in peanuts, cantaloupe and leafy greens.

The long-overdue regulations could cost businesses close to half a billion dollars a year to implement, but are expected to reduce the estimated 3,000 deaths a year from foodborne illness. Just since last summer, outbreaks of listeria in cheese and salmonella in peanut butter, mangoes and cantaloupe have been linked to more than 400 illnesses and as many as seven deaths, according to the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The actual number of those sickened is likely much higher.

The FDA’s proposed rules would require farmers to take new precautions against contamination, to include making sure workers’ hands are washed, irrigation water is clean, and that animals stay…

View original 740 more words

About RM Sorg

Hello everyone, I'm trying to be as transparent as I can possibly be. My greatest blessings in life are my two beautiful children. I'm a Social Media Diva trying to balance a healthy relationship with God, my husband, my children and my work! I love organic, green products and am dedicated to being a great example to my children by teaching them how to recycle and refurbish so that our impact on this planet is minimal. My grandchildren should be able to see, experience and feel nature and appreciate it the way I do and those before me did!

Leave a Reply

